The Facebook Fake

  I had what I’m sure everyone I know has, the picture perfect family…..on Facebook.  I was always checking in when I went somewhere with my yoga friends.  Taking kissing pictures with my husband.  Always uploading new pictures of my boys and our happy family.  Vacations, dinners, events, you name it, I posted it.  You would think I had the perfect marriage.  So the day my relationship status changed to separated my inbox flooded with questions. “Omg”, “what happened”, “are you ok”.  Yes I’m ok.  I just decided to stop pretending.  I want to be happy.  I mean really happy, not just on my profile.  I want to see the world with my eyes and not someone else’s photos.

   It’s so easy to live in this world where you can pretend that your problems don’t exist.  It’s like creating this image that you want your life to be for the world to see.  I can go back in my photos and remember arguments that happened right before I smiled for the camera and hit upload.  Only to go right back to that argument like I didn’t just pretend I was having an amazing day.  It’s so easy to get caught up in the world of Facebook.  Don’t get me wrong, I love seeing all of my friends and family. Especially the ones who don’t live close.  I just wonder how much of  what I am seeing is genuine?

  I became so good at faking it, I believed it was real.  For instance, the day Andrew graduated VPK.  That morning I found out my husband had an affair.  I spent the whole day in tears.  Cleaned myself up, got pretty and went to the ceremony as a family.  I smiled for the camera, uploaded pictures, and checked in as a proud mother would do.  My heart was broken, my world had fallen apart but on Facebook it was another perfect day in my seemingly perfect life.

 

Leave a Reply

